AdvocacyBiofuelsABFA MembersFor MediaBetter Fuels Blog


Advanced Biofuels Association Adds Members, Elects New Officers  

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Today, the Advanced Biofuel Association announced new officers during its summer fly-in board meeting. For the 2015/2016 term, the Association elected:

  • Wayne Simmons, President & CEO of Sundrop Fuels as Chairman
  • Neville Fernandes, President of Neste as Vice Chairman;
  • Wes Bolsen, Head of Business Dev. & Public Affairs at Cool Planet as Treasurer; and
  • Phil Caplan, Partner at Ensyn Development Partners as Secretary.

In addition, the Association appointed three new members to its Executive Committee:

  • Paul Woods, President & CEO Algenol;
  • Laurel Harmon, VP of Government Relations at LanzaTech; and
  • Rebecca Boudreaux, Ph.D., President of Oberon Fuels.

The Association also welcomed new members Wilmar Oleo, and Optimal Biofuels. Wilmar is one of the world’s largest oleochemicals manufacturers, whose tropical oils, and related products have a number of important edible and industrial applications in many industries, including the biodiesel sector. Optimal Biofuels is one of the leading providers of used cooking oil collection and grease trap services in California, all of which are turned into green biodiesel fuel.

During the fly-in, ABFA members met with a number of Hill offices, calling for reforms to strengthen the Renewable Fuels Standard program. President Michael McAdams reinforced his position that the program needed multiple statutory fixes in order to successfully foster the advanced and cellulosic industry. “Advanced and cellulosic biofuels have a bright future – that is what Congress intended and why it supports the industry,” said McAdams. He reminded everyone that with over 30 companies in the Association, including new members, ABFA now represents approximately one and a half billion gallons of current production.

Add a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *